Seriously?!! >_<

Today is Mother’s Day.  I woke up very early because I was hot and couldn’t get back to sleep, so I quietly came downstairs so that I wouldn’t wake up my husband from my tossing and turning!  After surfing the web for a few minutes, I started getting sleepy so I laid on the couch and went back to sleep for a few hours.  My husband woke up and quietly came downstairs without waking me up (which is a miracle in and of itself since he is NEVER quiet or cares if he wakes anyone while they’re sleeping)!  Once I woke up, I did a couple of things that I had been putting off, then headed to shower and get dressed…but the morning was gone and it was now 1:30 pm.

Even though it was later than I thought it would be when I got up, showered, and dressed, I still got dressed to go out and do something….because it’s Mother’s Day and my husband didn’t play golf since I reminded him!  The minutes, then hours ticked away – along with my good mood!  He fell asleep on the couch while I got bored and irritated!  I finally decided I had sat here long enough and I ran some errands.  He made no effort to move.

I did get a couple of things taken care of before our trip, but it really pisses me off that he made no effort to do anything to celebrate Mother’s Day!!  My son was here when I got back, so I did get to spend a couple of hours with him.  My daughter and her husband were here for her brother’s college graduation Saturday evening, so I got to see them yesterday.  That is a good thing – I absolutely love talking to my kids!!

Okay spouses, I’m going to give you a little advice here.  When it comes to a holiday celebrating your spouse….PLAN TO DO SOMETHING WITH THEM!!!  It shouldn’t be up to them to say, “I want to do this” or “Let’s do that” and it sure as hell should not be their responsibility to plan anything!!  If you want to earn “brownie points”, use your fuckin’ brain and celebrate your spouse!!

If you walk into a room and say, I got you something for Mother’s Day and her response is, “Oh!  You really did!” when she sees you holding a bag, that should be a big indicator that you’re doing it wrong!  I can tell you from experience that when you don’t bother doing something to spend time with them or celebrate them, they’re not gonna want to return that….well, I guess they are going to want to return that “favor” and not do a damn thing when it’s a holiday that celebrates you!!

So guys, don’t be a dumbass!!  Show your spouse how much you appreciate and love them and plan something!  It doesn’t have to be something extravagant and expensive, it just has to be something that they will enjoy doing AND that they didn’t have to plan or suggest!!

Leave a comment